Select Page

The Working Groups of the Sustainable Development Committee


Services Working Group

The Services Working Group was formed to enhance the uranium mines’ focus on power and water supply issues. Intermediate and long-term power supply security and the sourcing of sufficient quantities of bulk water at viable and cost-effective tariffs are the key issues addressed by this Working Group. Members of the Working Group were also actively involved in the Ministry of Mines and Energy’s process to develop a new National Energy Policy and the formulation of an Integrated Resource Plan.

Members of the Services Working Group

Radiation Safety Working Group

Uranium mining has the potential to contaminate the environment and to affect the health of workers and the public by exposing them to ionising radiation. Consequently, the discipline of radiation safety in the Namibian uranium mining industry requires skilled professionals able to competently manage radiation safety in the workplace and in the environment affected by uranium mining. Effective radiation protection must ensure minimal harm from ionising radiation to people and the environment. This can only be achieved if adequately trained professionals manage radiation protection in the workplace. A structured uranium product stewardship program is required to ensure that public fears about radiation are addressed factually und unemotionally. The Radiation Safety Working Group was established to address the challenges associated with building and maintaining capacity in radiation safety in Namibia.
The Radiation Safety Working Group consists of members from the operating uranium mines in Namibia, as well as from exploration companies. The Working Group identifies issues relating to radiation protection that may potentially pose a risk to the industry; develops and promotes best practice guidelines for radiation protection in the uranium mining industry; suggests initiatives to promote awareness about radiation protection; and supports the Namibian Uranium Association in its initiatives towards building capacity in radiation protection.

Members of the Radiation Safety Working Group

Dr Gunhild von Oertzen, Chair (Rössing Uranium Ltd)
Nelao Endjala (Rössing Uranium Ltd)
Temwani Kayira (Langer Heinrich Uranium)
Ian Marshman (Langer Heinrich Uranium)
Bob Meiring (Marenica Energy)
Sandra Müller (Orano Mining Namibia)
Augustinus Mungunda (Swakop Uranium)
Kaarina Nkandi (Orano Mining Namibia)
Tinus Prinsloo (Bannerman Resources)
Dr Bertram Schleicher (Rössing Uranium)
Dr Gabi Schneider (NUI)

Water and Air Quality Working Group

The Water and Air Quality Management Working Group was established to assist the uranium operations in safeguarding their reputation as a safe and responsible industry. The Working Group assists the Namibian Uranium Association in promoting and sharing leading practices and transferring knowledge with regard to water and quality management and advises the Nambian Uranium Association and the Namibian Uranium Institute from a uranium industry-wide perspective. The Working Group also provides a uranium industry-wide opportunity to discuss and examine water and air quality related risks and advises the Sustainable Development Committee on the co-ordination and prioritization of water and air quality risk management issues throughout the industry. It aims to encourage and foster greater awareness of water and air quality risk management aspects at all levels in the uranium industry, which calls for the identification of risks and the understanding of pressing issues and their effects in the longer term.

Members of the Water and Air Quality Working Group

Sandra Müller, Chair (Orano Mining Namibia)
Carlene Binneman (Swakop Uranium)
Michael Binneman (Swakop Uranium)
Olga Coetzee (Adamas Drilling)
Stefaans Gaeseb (Rössing Uranium Ltd)
Martin Hirsch (Reptile Mineral Resources and Exploration Ltd)
Delila Kalangula (Rössing Uranium Namibia)
Julia Kamatoto (Rössing Uranium Namibia)
Ian Marshman (Langer Heinrich Uranium)
Bob Meiring (Marenica)
Vistorina Nangolo (Rössing Uranium Ltd)
Kaarina Nkandi (Orano Mining Namibia)
Tinus Prinsloo (Bannerman Resources)
Rainer Schneeweiss ( Rössing Uranium Ltd)
Dr Gabi Schneider (NUI)
Ilka Schröer (Swakop Uranium)
Ignatius Shaduka (Rössing Uranium Ltd)

Swakop River Farmer’s Working Group

The Swakop River Farmer’s Working Group was put in place in order to address concerns of this particular stakeholder group. Farming in the immediate vicinity of mining operations can potentially lead to conflicting situations, such as competition for water, to name but one example. Indeed, the Swakop River farmers utilise a source of groundwater for their irrigation schemes, which is also utilised in part by the uranium mines, and a coordinated approach is therefore required. Of particular importance here is the quality of the water, as the irrigation schemes are downstream from the mines. Meetings are held to give information about projects and mining operations to the farmers, as well as availing them an opportunity to raise any concerns they might have.

Members of the Swakop River Farmer’s Working Group

Siegfried Eckleben, Co-Chair (Farmer)
Rainer Schneeweiss, Co-Chair (Rössing Uranium Ltd)
Frances Anderson (Langer Heinrich Uranium)
Carlene Binneman (Swakop Uranium)
Hartmut Fahrbach (Farmer)
Valereis Geldenhuys-Venter (Farmer)
Bob Meiring (Marenica Energy)
Sandra Müller (Orano Mining Namibia)
Norwel Mwananawa (SEMP)
Fanie van Niekerk (Farmer)
Prof Gustav Obermair (Farmer)
Tinus Prinsloo (Bannerman Resources)
Dr Gabi Schneider (NUI)